• Rusudan RukhadzeRusudan Rukhadze
Learn more
Otar Chiladze
Otar Chiladze

(1933 – 2009), writer, poet, playwright.


He graduated from the Philology Department of Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi University in 1956.

His published works include:

Poetry collections: Trains and Passengers (1959), Clay Tablets (1963), The Light Year (long poem, 1967), The Child Humored the Guests (1968), Nine Long Poems (1969), The Other Side of Heart (1974), Remember Life (1984), Poems (1987), The December Sun (1999), The Stairs (2002).


Novels: A Man Was Going Down the Road (1973), Anyone Who Finds Me (1976), The Iron Theatre (1981), The March Rooster (1987), Avelum (1995), The Wicker Basket (2003).


A collection of essays and interviews Happy Martyr (2003) and of plays Tsete’s Red Boots (2007).


He received the State (1993), Ilia Chavchavadze 91997), Shota Rustaveli (1983) awards and the 2003 Saba Prize for the Best Novel (The Wicker Basket).


In 1998 Otar Chiladze was nominated for the Nobel Prize along with five other writers. His works are translated into English, Russian, Estonian, Serbian, French, Danish, German, Bulgarian, Hungarian, Czech, Slovakian and Spanish.


After his death, Intelekti published four of his books: 100 Poems, Eternity Ahead (a collection of essays and interviews), The Cloud (a collection of interviews) and The Sky Starts on Earth (unpublished notes and records).


Otar Chiladze’s novels A Man Was Going Down the Road and Avelum translated by Donald Rayfield were published in the UK in 2012 and 2013.

Author's Books
Learn more